Party Treats

Source: etsy.com via Alicia on Pinterest

I saw this pin on Pinterest and knew it was perfect for my son’s favors at school for his birthday. Her website has lego crayons and my son is a huge #lego fan so I choose to make those. They worked out really well. I bought the silicone ice molds from #Amazon and then #Crayola crayons. I had my boys (4 and 8) help me take the papers off the crayons and break the crayons into pieces. It was not as easy as I thought it would be. When I was a kid I remember the paper falling off without doing anything. Now they really glue the wrappers on. Some colors were easier than others. I also had to rub glue off the crayons after I got the paper off. I broke the crayons into smaller pieces and put them into the molds. I baked them at 250 degrees in my toaster oven for about 5 minutes. After that I would check them and add more pieces of crayons if they needed it. When they were melted I put them in the freezer until they were cool. I made the mistake of trying to pop a batch out before they were completely cool and they broke apart. My only issue with the process is that some of the crayons separated during the melting process. The clear wax would float to the top and the colored wax would sink to the bottom. I could have shaved off the clear wax but didn’t take the time. No one seemed to care. When they were all done I put three crayons in a small bag and then sealed it with a sticker.

Leave a Reply

